Have been up this morning for a while and have spent a chunk of time finishing my editing work for the Parliament Choir. This has taken a leisurely week or so, and has mainly been to do with cosmetic resetting of the composer’s score as it stands, although I have had to take some editorial decisions along the way. There has been the occasional temptation to change a couple of things, especially where articulation is concerned, but I’ve listened to the voice on my other shoulder and decided, as much as possible, to stick to the Urtext. Given that the composer of this work is very much still alive I’ll fire him off an email later today, and then, all being well, I’ll tidy and convert the files tomorrow morning. We should, therefore, be ready to go straight back into rehearsal on this when the Parliament Choir reconvenes in September.

I’m still undecided over what to write next. The patchy internet connection here means that I can’t do the research I’d like to do on either of the two main pieces on my ‘to do’ list, so they might have to wait until I get back home to my new and superfast (I hope) internet connection. I have a few mornings left to fill here, however, so I might continue with a little bit of editing on one of my old arrangements, one which is now looking a little ragged around the edges and could do with a tidy, especially as the Parliament Choir like to dig it out every now and again and we have to go through the rigmarole every time of correcting the mistakes that have been there since the work’s hurried inception. Oh well.

Just a reminder as well that the Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis on G is down (up?) for its first performance over the weekend at Chichester Cathedral. I have worries that the work might be too tricky for the choir it’s been written for – on the other hand, I sometimes think that it will suit them quite nicely. Either way, once it’s performed I plan to send it out and about into the world. Given that I wrote it in this very room a year ago this performance will form a nice bookend to the past year and a symbolic springboard into my new lifestyle. Once I get proper internet back I’ll also be attempting to blog every day and as soon as I’m done with my writing for the day. I know for many that this will be boredom made inter-flesh, but you don’t have to log on, even though it’s lovely to have page views.

Hi Lou, by the way, and thanks for your comment – hope you’re very well! Hope you’re all very well, in fact – will be in touch tomorrow.

It’s raining, by the way. Again.

