Yesterday was a frustrating day, a potentially decent session of work almost totally ruined by the inability of my desktop computer to connect to the internet. Granted, this doesn’t have a huge effect on composing, but it is one of those problems which needs to be sorted out as quickly as possible. After jumping through innumerable hoops, I managed, more by luck than by skill, to fix the problem some time in the mid-afternoon, by which time I had less than an hour in which to get everything done before I needed to head out to take a choir practice. I wonder if today will be full of similarly fruitless endeavour.

The Times published their article about the Parliament Choir yesterday, granting us the centre spread, which was a pleasant surprise, although some helpful sub-editor apparently removed my full name (I was referred to as “O’Neill”) and the fact that I am the choir’s Composer-in-Residence, the two things I was most keen for them to get right and/or include, but there we go. Apparently my name at least has been fixed for the online version, but I can’t see that because one needs to pay for it. As The Times forms part of Murdoch’s Empire, I refuse to put any money into their way, even if my ego goes unmassaged as a result.

I did manage to edit one more score and update my website, also sending off some pieces to a couple of musicians I bumped into last week. In the end I cried off offering to write a new piece for nothing, losing courage at the very last moment. I charge nothing for copies of my works, so I should probably not also go around offering to write pieces for free. This is meant to become a career, after all.

The evening took me into Parliament, where I took the choir rehearsal, and thence to birthday drinks with the lady who had directed the first performance of the Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis on G. I was home late, tired and just a little grumpy, having started the day early, bright and cheery, so I have my fingers firmly crossed that today will bring fewer technical difficulties.

I’ll continue with orchestration work today, seeing as I managed none at all yesterday, send off a few more scores and then see where the musical mood takes me. I am sure that I could have made significant inroads into orchestrating Sweet Was The Song yesterday, had the wireless network not intervened, so I am optimistic of forging ahead with this in the near future. Difficulties aside, it is good to be upstairs, and conducive to work it is too. Joey the cat (not the lame one, the other one) perches on my desk like some furry Cerberus (Furberus?) greeting people who dare to venture up the stairs to my garret, turning those away who “aren’t on the list”. Perhaps this weekend I will really start to sort out the bookcases up there, but, for now, full connectivity, manuscript paper and pencil are enough.

