After the rain comes the sun, of course, and yesterday’s tribulations were put behind me as I spent a leisurely morning sorting a few things out around the house, moving a desk here, shifting a chair there. I also began sorting through some of the music books up in my composing room, discovering that I am missing some Couperin and Mozart. No doubt they will turn up somewhere at some point, but it is good to see order emerging where once there was chaos.

The afternoon saw me at my computer once again, editing scores, uploading them to my website and then sending them off to various interested parties, and others who may not be interested yet, but hopefully might be some day. In terms of pure writing, therefore, this is yet more downtime, but I am not feeling that this is the wrong thing to do. The task of editing my works and sending them out is something I have been thinking of doing for at least five years, so it is a task as important as writing to the aspiring composer with a significant back catalogue.

In the evening I took the first rehearsal for the Malcolm Sargent Festival Choir’s Christmas concert – guess which carol of mine they will be performing..! Yes, folks, Sweet Was The Song is shaping up to be the carol everybody loves to hate by this time next year, although most of the MSFC still think it has its charms, which is very kind of them. I inadvertently caused much merriment during a run through The Cowboy Carol, arranged by Sir Malcolm himself. Setting off at a fair old lick, the gallant tenors and basses were thrown into utter disarray by the proliferation of ferociously fast “pick-a-pang-pang”s which lay in wait for them over a page turn. I was laughing so hard that I came off my podium and had to stop conducting, but all was lost by that stage anyway. Mea culpa, mea maxima culpa, no doubt about that, but funny all the same. I was still chuckling on the tube on the way home.

I sent off some blurb to the BBC yesterday, in preparation for the recording and broadcast of Sweet, which they are intending to put on their website. Hopefully nobody will shorten my name or truncate my job titles before it gets published, and it may even push some traffic towards my website and this very blog. Long experience has taught me to expect nothing, but sometimes the fates align and something rather wonderful happens, like this whole BBC business.

