Tags

, ,

Most of my composition work yesterday was spent on administrative tasks, most urgently that of redesigning my website. There is much that can be done to make it easier to navigate and read, so I am fighting my way through lines of HTML trying to take it apart and put it back together again. I have also chosen a new theme for my blog, one which is a little less strident on the eyes and which allows me to put a picture of yours truly across the top of the page.

My intention is to upload the revised website at the beginning of the New Year, which gives me just under a week to try to sort everything out. It will not be radically different, but will hopefully be cleaner and leaner, every little improvement doubtless going to help along the way.

I received a message from the St. Nicholas Center in America yesterday, asking for a copy of the Missa Sancti Nicolai to put up on their site, which I have sent through to them. It involved a little bit of editing and reformatting to set it in my current house style, but that is all done and I have uploaded the new version to my own website as well. The complexity of the piece does mean that I wonder who might download it and be able to perform it, but, on the other hand, every little bit of publicity might be of use in the long run.

What this all has meant is that yesterday became part of the Christmas holiday for me as far as getting notes onto manuscript was concerned, but I really must do some writing today, and have a slot of time put aside in the afternoon for just that. I swing between telling myself that I am on holiday and telling myself that I should be up with the lark and scribbling pre-dawn, and I am still undecided as to how my working day might best be arranged. I have also missed a competition entry due to getting behind on my writing, but I think that this is all part of the learning process.

On the periphery of composition is also the final organisation of my office, which I will try to get done over the break, and need to sort into manageable tasks. Still, an hour or so a day will see rather a transformation before the New Year is ushered in, so maybe today should be the day I finally take the bull by the horms and get some things done. I think that I could reasonably clock off early in the evening, have a decent day’s work done and still have time to be roundly thrashed at some game or other.

Despite all the pressure I keep putting on myself and the targets I keep missing, I am still pleased with the way I am working at the moment. It is nearly time to sit back and reflect on the past year, if not quite yet. Until then it is important that I view each missed target as an opportunity to learn, and see composition as an endeavour which encompasses so much more than putting notes onto paper.

