For some reason sleep is in short supply chez O’Neill. Some of us had trouble getting to sleep, while the cats were up even earlier than usual and spread their dawn-related enthusiasm to me as well. Now I can’t get back to sleep, so it is 5.30ish and I am sitting here with a cup of camomile tea, waiting for tiredness to hit me once again. If not soon, I am sure it will arrive at some point this afternoon, and at least I will have a better idea whether I work better in the morning or evening.  To add insult to injury, both felines have curled up, thank you very much indeed, and are dreaming of catching mice or stealing food, leaving me the only member of the household conscious of the dawn.

So early even the cats are asleep

I received another competition rejection yesterday. Again, I had been fairly optimistic about this one, so it came as a little bit of a disappointment, but we travel on to the next piece instead. I am swiftly racking up piles of relatively poor pieces, but each one is a step on a journey, so it is not all wasted effort by any means. If I can finish it in time my next competition entry will need to be quite substantial, so it will be a decent chance for me to tackle a large-scale form, and, as luck would have it, an idea came to me yesterday as I wandered home from the tube station. Let’s see just how long this enthusiasm lasts.

We had a good rehearsal with the Parliament Choir last night, despite the fact that many of the singers were away. Of All Persons And Estates was beginning to sound quite feisty, and we also ran through Ar Hyd y Nos for the first time. It seems that both these pieces will now be performed in London and Cardiff. The latter seems a little bit of an oddity in central London, but I’ll take performances where they come, thank you very much, and it’s another one to add to the list.

I tucked in a decent hour of composition yesterday afternoon, sketching ideas for a new piece, probably the competition entry I mentioned above. As usual, the first few bars seemed quite alive and fresh before it all got dreadfully dull and worthy at the foot of page one, so I’ll spend another session on it today and see what transpires. I’m still undecided as to whether this is a good idea or not, concentrating on this rather than another piece, but the prize is pretty decent, so it has to be worth a shot.

I might also have a pile of arranging to do fairly soon, so from yesterday’s stillness some work seems to be emerging to keep me fed. We shall see. So, blog done, do I head back to bed or grasp the day with both hands and get all my work done before the morning is out? Decisions, decisionzzzz…

