Tags

,

I spent most of Monday tidying and correcting the music which had been performed on the Sunday morning and uploading it to my website. This way the latest version is always available there for anybody who would like to download it. It does not take a huge amount of time to get this done, but it is a fiddly little task and needs to be attacked, else it has a high chance of being one of those things which gets pushed back from day to day. There are whispers of another commission in the air too. 

Today and Tuesday were filled mainly with emails, sorting out some of the details of performances next week, also accumulating information and recommendations for my visit to the US. While I hope to be busy enough out there not to have too much free time on my hands, I am still very keen to sample some of the local flavour, and will think it a missed opportunity if I do not.  We also rehearsed my piece for the Commonwealth Carnival yesterday evening.

All this is a long winded way of saying that the writing has fallen by the wayside for the past forty eight hours or so, but there is a clear patch from tomorrow in which I hope to forge ahead, finish Everyone Sang and hopefully start on something new. I even did some sneaky composing as I sat in the dentist’s chair this morning. He probably thought that my stern expression had to do with the whirring of his drill, but really it was caused by my realisation that an organ link in Everyone Sang needs to be rewritten entirely. 

A short entry for today, therefore, but with plenty going on behind the scenes in preparation for the epidemic of performances next week, of which more anon.

