Tags

, , ,

 

Yesterday evening I was at St. John’s, Smith Square to hear Chapelle du Roi perform my setting of the Nunc Dimittis. Even if some of my harmonic shifts took a while to settle, it was a close rendition, and it was, as always, educational to hear in the flesh music I have hitherto known only in my head. I have a sneaking suspicion that I do that kind of airy and slightly otherworldly stuff fairly well, too, although I may be getting ahead of myself.

 

Whatever, I came away from the concert with an idea for a new piece in my head. In fact, if we are being entirely precise, I sat there in the first half of the concert with the idea for the new piece. Fingers crossed, Chapelle might ask me for something in 2013 as well, and it would be nice to offer them something new.

 

In the meantime, though, I need to do a little rescoring on Why Should We Not Sing?, and then look ahead to projects new. I still have a couple of commissions to get done in the near future, and some competition entries sitting in people’s emails, but today is a significant day chez O’Neill, so, once this blog is up, the computer will be shut down and I will be taking the rest of the day off, even if fragments of this new piece are already circulating in my head.

