Tags

,

Cats and peoples alike have had a relatively quiet post-Easter chez O’Neill, although we (the peoples, not the cats) were guests at a wonderful gathering on Sunday evening which tipped over the line into Monday morning, and put a festive end to what had been a long and mildly stressful day, fighting with alarm clocks, performances, misprints in service sheets and the like.

Monday was a significant day in this household, as well as being a Bank Holiday, so I downed tools and headed out to sit by the river in Kingston before returning home and being ever so lazy, something I very much enjoyed.  This morning, however, I am back at the writing desk, putting extra flourishes, phrasing, articulation and dynamics into my latest arrangement, which is now in its very final phases.

I have had a couple of rejections from competitions in the past few days, one of which was expected, one of which slightly less so, but I am happy enough with the way my writing is at the moment not to feel too disheartened, and, in any case, there were conspiratorial whispers of yet more commissions over the weekend.

While not taking my eye off the ball, over the next few days, weeks and months I will need to start taking stock of where I am both personally and professionally, and, more importantly, where I feel I should be going.  I have for many years now been of the view that without a plan there is very little chance of getting to where you would like to be, and over the past few months I have had a much clearer idea of where that is for me.  Having reached what I believe can only be called middle age, I think that I need to shift my priorities, and am getting in shape to do as much over the next five years or so.  It will be a slow process, probably akin to tectonic plates moving around, rather than an explosive decompression, but it will happen.

For now, though, my priority remains to shift my writing, both in terms of quality and quantity, into a higher gear.  For the other matters there is a meeting this week which I hope will lay the groundwork for something to come to fruition somewhere further down the line.

