Tags

, , , , ,

It is more or less half way through the Anghiari Festival, certainly the hottest I can remember, the quality, as always, tip-top.  Picking highlights would inevitably mean that other performances might fall into the shadows, but, in terms of composition, I have to say that the Saint-Saens Septet was a joy to hear.  Not a piece I knew before, but brimming with originality and beautiful sonorities with a combination of instruments which would have caused me nothing but problems.  Such a shame that people think only of Carnival Of The Animals and the “Organ” Symphony as his collected works, because there is so much of his music out there, and most of it is staggeringly enjoyable.

We had our second set of builders pull out of our proposed bathroom refit on Sunday night, a mere ten and a half hours before they were due to start work.  I imagine that the next bunch will draw up in their van and then drive away, never to be seen again.  Once again, when the horse throws you off, you just have to get back on.

I’m ticking along with bits of writing, getting things done, although there are some organisational things (not to do with the Festival, I should point out) that are proving to be frustrating.  I have spent most of my adult life trying to stop admin taking over my life, but occasionally it still intrudes.

The final concert of the Festival will be the Verdi Requiem, some 180 singers in the choir, and hopefully as many as 750 in the audience.  There has been talk of rain, but the forecast at the moment is saying that it will be fine, even a little bit cooler than today, so the possibility of a perfect evening’s entertainment.  There is still a little rehearsal time to go, but I think that the opening downward a minor triad will herald something very special indeed.

