A colleague asked me the other day whether I get bored of my music, to which the answer is that I do not often give it the chance to bore me, as I very rarely listen to it.  I tend to give away my copies of any CD that has my music on it to impecunious friends (strange how many are impecunious), and, once I have finished the writing of a piece, during which process it lives in my mind, I tend only to become reacquainted with it if I happen to encounter it in rehearsal, in which case it arrives in front of me fresh and ready to be subjected to my scrutiny in the cold light of a new day.  In fact, when I browse through my folder of scores on the computer, I often encounter titles of pieces I have no recollection of having written, and many is the time I have to open the file to find out what those pieces were written for.  Even at that stage sometimes I do not recognise what is in front of me, nor remember why I wrote it.

I mention this because on Friday evening the Malcolm Sargent Festival Choir began rehearsing I Hear, And Am Elated for their April concert, and I have had no contact with the piece since the last time we performed it, whenever that was.  In this case I am glad to say that absence has made the heart grow slightly fonder, because the piece has held up pretty well, and the writing is secure enough to make me think that I knew what I was doing back in 2011 when I put it together.  I should also mention that the choir sounded pretty good singing it as well, and in the other repertoire we were running (Handel, Parry), and people were keen to have a go, which is always heartening to see.

It has been an interesting couple of weeks on the personal front, a nagging cold just refusing to shift, making my voice-related work a balancing act between giving my all and trying to save my throat for future commitments, and some other matters nagging away in the background, to which I alluded in passing in my last post.  Those matters came to a head earlier this week, largely at my instigation, I have to say, and have since been resolved, hopefully to everybody’s satisfaction, meaning that I can put that to bed and deal instead with the important things in life – writing, arranging, games, that kind of thing.  In fact, we seem to be in a period of arranging at the moment, at least for the next couple of weeks, also a little tinkering with a couple of recent commissions to get them just right.

The weekend just past has also been an opportunity to indulge in some really wonderful music – Purcell, Blow, Humfrey, Walton, more Humfrey and just a little bit of Bach thrown in for good measure, while the week ahead will see more work with the Parliament Choir, including Tu es Petrus, and more arranging.  And so on it rolls.

