In a bittersweet concert last night we said hello to another performance of I Hear, And Am Elated, only the second in its orchestral garb, and farewell to the Malcolm Sargent Festival Choir.  The choir has been running for forty five or so years, raising money for charity, and I have been involved with them for over a decade, but, after countless concerts and, lest we forget, many lives changed for the better, the folders are being shut and the music collected for the final time.  I think it is fair to say that the choir went out on a high, and I do hope that I made a difference for the better.

People were asking me last night what I would do with the time that this development will free up, and the simple answer is that I have not really thought that much about it, but that it will probably involve more writing, and fewer hours on the road.  As it happens, there are some tempting opportunities out there at the moment that I feel I should consider, but I am aware that they might well prove to be a very bad fit for me, at least at this stage in my life.  With things so decently balanced, and that balance having been fought for, why risk things?  Lack of ambition or common sense?  It seems perfectly sensible to me that I should continue to pursue the goals I have sought since the year dot, not necessarily whichever goals happen to be in view at any particular time.

With all my arranging done for the time being and my lecture notes all wrapped up for this academic year, it looks as though the outlook is set fair for some writing over the coming weeks.  There are several fragmentary works on my hard drive and in various real-world folders as well which could do with finishing, and they could also serve as proving grounds for new ideas.  In terms of performances, the next one will be at Cadogan Hall on the 27th, the premiere of Tu Es Petrus with the Parliament Choir, which will be reperformed the following week in Notre Dame de Paris, followed in short order by the first performance of Levavi Oculos by Cantores Salicium in the middle of May.

 

