There’s a fair amount that is wrong about the internet, but tucked in there are bits and pieces that are good.  I am particularly fond of the way that the trusty old ‘net has made getting one’s music out there easier over the past twenty years or so.

One upon a time I would take my manuscript, bar lines ruled specific distances apart, all written out in ink, down to the local branch of Rymans, fifty pence pieces in pocket, and then wait while the photocopier churned out however many copies of it were needed for whatever performance or competition.  Then it was back to the house to staple or bind and package, and thence to the Post Office.  Now you can finish a piece and have it in rehearsal on the other side of the world within the hour.  I know because it has happened to one of my arrangements.

The same is true of advice and community.  While many on the web feel that being anonymous gives them the right to be as vile as they like, it is becoming progressively easier to reach out and help people as well, even if those small acts of kindness are the ones that tend to go unreported.

I was really touched yesterday to learn of a blog post that referred back to one of mine, especially as it seems that my writing has resonated somewhere far away.  Being a composer can be a really lonely business, but it is less lonely than it once was, and it is always good to be reminded of that.

While we’re at it, I’d like to point interested readers to my brother’s new blog.  He has been reticent about writing this, not convinced by its value, but given the life he leads I managed to persuade him that people might be interested to read about what he gets up to.  He is the lovechild of punk and IT, while I am a classical rocker who can barely load up a DVD, so you would think that never the twain shall meet, but there’s a decent bit of our Venn diagram that overlaps.  I’m sure he would be glad to have you along.

