It is one of my favourite sayings that we do not stop playing because we grow old, rather we grow old because we stop playing.  Find yourself a job you love, goes another saying, and you will never work a day in your life.

I have managed to forge out a decent route through my time, I think.  It creaks with the stresses and strains of unexpected emergencies, but those things I regard as variance in what is otherwise a tranquil life.

Best of all, the things that enthralled me as a child remain those things that enthrall me now, and the creative act that has always thrilled me remains the primary focus of all my endeavours.  Mainly this manifests itself in composition, but it is also there in other areas, such as in the creation of this blog.

Many will know that I have been writing reviews of board games for an online retailer over the past year, and that this has led to magazine articles on the same subject in the US.  It is an area of my life that I enjoy thoroughly, but view as a kind of release from the tough mental exercise of constructing articulate sound out of nothing.

So why this and why today?  Well, I will be spending my time at the UK Games Expo, mingling with some of my fellow reviewers, meeting some designers and touching various lovely bits of new cardboard.  In the meantime I’ll be trying to avoid growing old, and surrounding myself with people who have the same aim.

