I talk often about gravity.  Most often it is about the gravitational pull of silence as opposed to the physical effort required to make music, expressed, of course, in against the pull of silence, but I also think about it in other areas of life.

There is a mental gravity as well as the physical gravity that has us sliding down spacetime until stopped by something (the Earth, in our case), and that mental gravity can lure us easily into doing nothing or into the vicious negativity we see around us so often.  Whatever requires effort goes counter to that natural pull, but the idea of making that effort can seem at times to be all too much.

Positivity, play, the quality of being perennially interested in things (and, as a byproduct, interesting) are all worth fighting for, worth the effort of fighting against being pulled down into the easy alternative.  Better still, apart from being rewards in themselves, these very qualities are liable to enable us to bump into people of similar mindsets.

This is all relevant to me because I chatted over the weekend with a musician who could open up a new field of exploration for me.  I always assume that nothing will come of anything, hence get excited about these things much less than I used to, but you never know, and an open door is an open door.

It turns out that my suitability for this work is due to almost everything I have done, so not just the composition, arranging, directing and choral work, but also my time in JEBO and even in former bands as bassist and drummer.  When it comes to this kind of work my approach is often to say “yes” first and then work out the logistics later.  It sounds like teetering on the edge of disaster, but has turned out to work pretty well over the years, and that “yes” fights against gravity in the same way that a simple “no” succumbs to it.

