The two RetroChic gigs I had been looking forward to so much did not take place, due to the proverbial circumstances beyond my control.  Shall we just say that you can’t get the staff and leave it at that?

Anyway, today sees the return of the Parliament Choir to rehearsal after the shenanigans of the past weeks, starting to get to grips with the feral gestures of Carmina Burana.  It is not the most subtle piece, but effective and fun to sing, and we come off the back of a great Belshazzar’s Feast.

Also this coming week is a meeting about a new project, linked to the transcribing work I have been doing over the past few days.  I have no idea where it will lead, if it leads anywhere, but you need to poke your head around those open doors to see what is there.

I will also need to commit myself to some decent sessions on the new orchestral piece which is just about close enough to its deadline to force me into action, a technique I seem to have borrowed from the (far better) composer John Adams.

So everything ticks on, although briefly I appear to be a member of not one but two bands that are on temporary hiatus.  At least the benefit of having a portfolio career is that a trip in one area does not necessarily mean a fall in others, although it is always helpful when people do what they have undertaken to do.

