In the end it all came rushing back at once, that whole composition thing. Having spent a goodly amount of time faffing around with the beginning of the orchestral work it turned out that what I needed was a clear head, a quiet place and a little bit of spare time.

Those three elements coincided on the drive to London early on Sunday morning. Radio off, for once I turned my thoughts to the piece at hand rather than what my diary required, and the benefits were swift in coming.

The only problem with composing on the fly in such conditions is that the ideas and the details need to be stored away somewhere to be written down later, and it is easy to lose a bit here and a bit there along the way. Thankfully there was enough left in my head, and close enough to my original conception, to work with later in the day.

While I would not yet say that the dam has broken on this piece at least there is now much more to work with than there was at the start of the weekend, a focus for the central section, and a much clearer idea of where the opening should head and how the ending should progress.

I must also admit that it felt good, diving into some fluent composition without having to fight for every single note. Given that such fluency is usually a good harbinger for the quality of the finished product I was happy to embrace it.

